The Bread and Butter of Knitting

My latest completed project is a black 2×2 rib scarf (knit 2, purl 2). I haven’t got any photos of the finished item, because I often forget with gifts to take some before I give them away! I’m sure you can use your imagination for this one. The ribbing made the knitted material nice and cosy, and the final object was a good length for wrapping round or pulling snugly through in a loop.

I think scarves and ribbing are like the bread and butter of knitting. There are so many possibilities with a scarf, ranging from complex lacy works of art to the simple but precious first knit of a garter stitch project or Doctor Who themed labours of love.

Photo credit: Koocheekoo on Flickr

Photo credit: Koocheekoo on Flickr

Photo credit: operatingmanual on Flickr

Photo credit: operatingmanual on Flickr

Photo credit: bad bad magpie on Flickr

Photo credit: bad bad magpie on Flickr

Photo credit: Jorth on Flickr

Photo credit: Jorth on Flickr

I admit that there were moments partway through my own recent scarf knitting that I felt as though I had fallen down the knitting rabbit hole. I was working away at it but it seemed like the scarf was staying the same size. Due to this and its dark hue, my friends and I started calling it the occult scarf, as it appeared to have magical stitch swallowing properties.

Ribbing and simple scarf knitting at it’s best though can be rhythmic and soothing, the perfect accompaniment to a cup of coffee and a chat with friends.

Photo credit: hurrayic

Photo credit: hurrayic

2 thoughts on “The Bread and Butter of Knitting

  1. Ah yes I have fell victim to the rabbit hole of knitting before now, you really must photo the occult scarf when it’s done 🙂

    • Unfortunately I’ve already given it away! I always forget. I must get better at remembering to photograph gifts before I give them 🙂

Leave a Reply

